HEAR: Kendrick Lamar Album Review – good kid, m.A.A.d city

2 Nov

KENDRICK LAMAR good kid m.A.A.d city Album Review

Kendrick Lamar – good kid, m.A.A.d city

Some may say that the West Coast has been sorely lacking in the rap category, “The West” has not been the same as it once was during the early 90’s with greats such as Tupac, Snoop, & Ice Cube just to name a few. With the torch being handed down to young Kendrick Lamar he has delivered a constituency of hits that spark not only the reconstruction of the western region but also rap music as a whole. Kendrick solidifies his sophomore studio album good kid M.A.A.D city with a series of vivid tales to paint the perfect picture of his enigmatic psyche with tracks; “Sherane” where he takes you on a conquest through Compton for a late night run to see an around-the-way female. Also displaying several orthodox flow deliveries with tempo changing interludes in between tracks. The album is an absolute  game changer with combating themes such as religion vs. violence, lust vs. monogamy and friends vs. foes wrapped into an all-inclusive package of ingenious lyricism.

Official Track list:

1. Sherane a.k.a Master Splinter’s Daughter
2. Bitch, Don’t Kill My Vibe
3. Backseat Freestyle
4. The Art of Peer Pressure
5. Money Trees feat. Jay Rock
6. Poetic Justice feat. Drake
7. good kid
8. m.A.A.d city feat. MC Eiht
9. Swimming Pools (Drank) [Extended Version]
10. Sing About Me, I’m Dying of Thirst
11. Real feat. Anna Wise
12. Compton feat. Dr. Dre

Deluxe Edition:

13. The Recipe feat. Dr. Dre
14. Black Boy Fly
15. Now or Never feat. Mary J. Blige
16. Collect Calls
17. Swimming Pools (Drank)

Written By: Khorry Lewis


One Response to “HEAR: Kendrick Lamar Album Review – good kid, m.A.A.d city”


  1. SENSES Lifestyle Magazine: November 2012 Issue « senseslifestyle - November 2, 2012

    […] HEAR: Kendrick Lamar Album Review: good kid, m.A.A.d city […]

Add Your Insight

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: