MUSIC IS MEMORY: COMMON THE INNOVATOR

9 Dec

MUSIC IS MEMORY: COMMON THE INNOVATOR

"Common"

We all know the weather is starting to change going into the holidays and New Year, as an adult I always reminisce about music in regards to how cold or hot the weather gets. For example, when Jay-z dropped Reasonable Doubt I was in Jr. high and vividly remember listening to “Dead Presidents” on my CD walk man outside in the rain waiting for basketball practice.  The different memories that a music artist can give our minds can be therapeutic and timeless. No matter how old we get, music always seems to take us back to the one place that we can’t physically visit again. Lonnie Rashid Lynn Jr. better known as Common, is one hip hop artist that I can truly say plays a huge part in the way I view music and life today, along with plenty of dope tracks that take me back to that hot sunny summer or that cold winter afternoon.

Common may be known on a more international and commercial level more now than he was in the years to pass, and the growth Common has portrayed not just as an artist but as an activist puts him on a different playing field of artists. Although Resurrection was the 2nd album Common put out, it is one of his most classical pieces that begun his reputation as a lyrically challenging artist who is able to lend intellectual weight and depth to his listeners on the human condition. When Resurrection gets played to most hip hop heads it is a masterpiece. That sunny summer listening to this entire album from front to back was like being sat down by my father and letting him tell me what is right and wrong. Most of the albums by Common are life lessons, experiences, relationships, and metaphoric similes that if played over makes sense the second time around.

“Went to school in Baton Rouge for a couple of years My college career got downed with a couple of beers, Came back home, now I gotta pay back loans”

I was driving home on a cold afternoon listening to Pandora and “Its your world” came on taking me back to my college years where I maximized the playing time on this album, with this track on repeat. At the moment of the BE’ album, Hip Hop was making its way with several artists on the same page of conscious messages; I personally crowned Common as the best after hearing it. With 8 albums to date and a New York Times Best selling book “One Day It’ll All make Sense” Common has proven to be one of hip hops top heavyweights.

“Sweet”, and “Blue Sky”, are two of Common’s new singles from his album The Dreamer/ The Believer set to be released 12/20/11. I can’t wait to make new memory for Common’s music.

Written By: Khorry Lewis

(Senses Director)

One Response to “MUSIC IS MEMORY: COMMON THE INNOVATOR”

  1. DeuceK December 11, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Common is the truth. You right listening to his old albums brings back memories. Like Water for Chocolate spoke to me on a car ride from Cali-Texas.. Legend in my eyes.

Add Your Insight

